The Cities and County of San Mateo

San Mateo County is made up of twenty cities and towns and a large unincorporated area that includes La Honda, Pescadero, Montara, Moss Beach, El Granada, and Fair Oaks. The large mountainous part of the County and the San Francisco Airport location are also unincorporated areas.

City Information

Following is a list of cities and towns in San Mateo County with their websites, and downloadable files for ordinances, policies and other information of interest. Ten of the cities belong to a joint power of authority called the South Bayside Waste Management Authority (SBWMA).

South Bayside Waste Management Authority (SBWMA)

The SBWMA is a joint powers authority (JPA) whose members are the jurisdictions of Atherton, Belmont, Burlingame, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Redwood City, San Carlos, San Mateo, the West Bay Sanitary District, and San Mateo County. There are approximately 90,000 single family households and 10,500 commercial accounts in the SBWMA area. The total population of the member agencies of the SBWMA is approximately 425,000. As a JPA, the SBWMA Board members are an advisory board which makes solid waste and recycling program recommendations to reduce waste to meet the AB 939 mandate and on rate setting issues. The SBWMA owns the San Carlos Transfer Station and Recyclery. If you live in one of the SBWMA cities, you can contact the SBWMA staff as well as your city with concerns or questions.