SBWMA County Franchised Areas

Information on the SBWMA
(South Bayside Waste Management Authority)

The South Bayside Waste Management Authority (SBWMA) is comprised of 12 member agencies: Atherton, Belmont, Burlingame, East Palo Alto, Foster City, Hillsborough, Menlo Park, Redwood City, San Carlos, the City of San Mateo, the County of San Mateo, and the West Bay Sanitary District.

Each member agency currently has its own franchise agreement with Recology for collection services within their jurisdictions. The current franchise agreements with Recology will expire on December 31, 2020. Recology began collection of garbage and recyclables on January 1, 2011.

The SBWMA's primary goal is to provide cost-effective waste reduction, recycling and solid waste programs to member agencies, and to oversee the San Carlos Shoreway Recycling and Disposal Center. Each Member Agency selects its representative to serve on the Board of Directors. Board of Directors' meetings are held the fourth Thursday of every month.

On October 20th, 2009, the County of San Mateo's Board of Supervisors approved Resolution #070423 which authorized the County to enter into a 10-year franchise agreement with Recology San Mateo County (RSMC) to provide waste and recycling services to all residences and business owners in County Service Are No. 8 (North Fair Oaks) and unincorporated county areas that are immediately adjacent to the SBWMA's current service area (Burlingame Hills, San Mateo Highlands and Baywood Park [Crystal Springs area] Harbor Industrial, Devonshire Canyon, Palomar Park, Oak Knoll, Kensington Square, Emerald Lake Hills, Sequoia Tract, Peninsula Golf Club, and Trailer Ranchero.

Map of the unincorporated areas in the SBWMA

Community Outreach Plan